FAO Regional Office for Latin America and the Caribbean

Commission on Livestock Development (LDAC)

The Commission on Livestock Development for Latin America and the Caribbean (LDAC) was created in 1986 by the FAO Council based on a request made by its Member Countries.

Its goal is to create policies specific to the sector and implement national and regional livestock development programmes.

At the last LDAC meeting, the Southern Cone chapter emphasized the urgent need to increase public investment and international cooperation for sustainable livestock development, including the adaptation of the livestock sector to climate change.

The countries of the Southern Cone stressed that further research should be conducted on technical and economic mechanisms that compliment agricultural and livestock systems, including crop-grass rotation systems and integration of agroforestry systems.

The next LDAC meeting, hosted by the Southern Cone chapter, will take place in Paraguay in 2012.

Member countries

The Commission is conformed of entitled Member States that have notified the FAO Director General their interest of participating:

  • Argentina
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Rep
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela (Bolivarian Rep of)