FAO Regional Office for Latin America and the Caribbean

Latin American and Caribbean Forestry Commission (LACFC)

The Latin American and Caribbean Forestry Commission (LACFC) serves as a forum for countries to analyze important regional forestry issues and to exchange knowledge and expertise. It meets every two years.

It also establishes mechanisms to strengthen cooperation between FAO Regional Offices and Headquarters and countries in the region on issues pertaining to forestry, so that countries can guide FAO in the creation and implementation of regional and global forestry programmes.

During the last LACFC meeting in 2010, emphasis was placed on the importance of effective forest governability in order to prevent deforestation and the illegal logging of forests and to improve conditions for sustainable forest development, as reported by FAO today. 

LACFC also stressed the importance of forests to mitigate the effects of climate change and the need to adapt to its effects. Sustainable forest management is one of the prerequisites for forests to be able to adapt to climate change.

It also noted that community forestry is fundamental to strengthen sustainable forest management and that these initiatives benefit the society and economy of local communities and protect the environment.

LACFC Members

    • Antigua and Barbuda
    • Argentina
    • Barbados
    • Belize
    • Bolivia
    • Brazil
    • Colombia
    • Costa Rica
    • Cuba
    • Chile
    • Dominica
    • Ecuador
    • El Salvador
    • United States of America
    • France
    • Granada
    • Guatemala
    • Guyana
    • Haiti
    • Honduras
    • Jamaica
    • Mexico
    • Nicaragua
    • Netherlands
    • Panama
    • Paraguay
    • Peru
    • United Kingdom
    • Dominican Republic
    • Saint Kitts and Nevis
    • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
    • Suriname
    • Trinidad and Tobago
    • Uruguay
    • Venezuela